Posted in Conferences & Conventions, Social Media, Technology

10 iOS Apps To Enhance Your #NABJ13 Convention Experience

By Benét J. Wilson, chair, NABJ Digital Journalism Task Force & social media/eNewsletters editor, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association

Regular readers know that I am a HUGE fan of my iPhone as a great tool to do my job as a journalist. But some of the same tools I love to do my work will also help make the upcoming National Association of Black Journalists Annual Convention and Career Fair a better experience. So below, in no particular order, are 10 apps to make your convention experience even better.

  1. Hoot Suite: with this free Twitter app, not only can I keep track of my six Twitter accounts, I can also create columns to follow the #NABJ13 and #NABJ hashtags, along with key people like @NABJprez2011
  2. Soundnote: I’ll be using this iPad app  to document convention workshops. This app records what you’re typing on your iPad.  As you play back the recording, you can tap a word, and SoundNote will jump right to that point in the audio. I pair my iPad with the Brydge keyboard, which allows me to leave the MacBook Pro at home.
  3. Flipboard: this app is my go-to when keeping up with my favorite news publications and blogs. You create a personal magazine on your topics of interest (mine are hard news, travel/aviation, journalism and technology) and share them via Facebook, Twitter and email. And if you want to read an article later, save it on the Pocket app.
  4. CamCard ($6.99): every year I collect a huge stack of business cards and only input a fraction of them on Microsoft Outlook. I hate paying for apps, but this one was worth the money. I can take a picture of a card and the information is automatically updated in my NABJ contacts group. Plus it’s environmentally friendly. ABMW President Troy Johnson also told me about CardFlick, a free app that allows you to share business card information, and DJTF Secretary Kiratiana Freelon swears by Card Munch, which pairs with LinkedIn.
  5. Dragon Diction: this handy app allows me to post directly to my Facebook or Twitter accounts just by speaking. And because so much is going on, I can also use it to send myself reminders and updates.
  6. Evernote: this is the best tool that you’re not using.  You can use one account on your laptop, iPad and iPhone to create notebooks that allow you to take notes or drag in text, save web video and audio clips and even email notes into the program.  With tags, you can organize all of your notebooks.  Here’s a great Lifehacker article that shows jut why this should be in your apps arsenal.
  7. Concur: If you’re going on your company’s dime and it uses Concur, this app is golden. It allows you to keep track of expenses on the run. And after the convention, there’s no huge pile of receipts to track. Nice! If you don’t use Concur, click here for other suggestions.
  8. Urbanspoon: Orlando is an up-and-rising city for food. Use this free app to find restaurants in the city, complete with menus, comments, directions and contact information. It also breaks down restaurants by cuisine and price.For my sushi lovers, I’m a big fan of iSushi.
  9. Ustream: this app allows me to shoot live video from my iPhone. I can also upload the video to my YouTube channel.  I’ve also been playing with Tout, which allows users to shoot their own 15-second videos and post them to their Facebook, Twitter, email contacts, or even text.
  10. GroupMe: this group text messaging app is a great way to keep in touch with a group of friends at the convention.

So, what did I miss? What apps would you suggest for NABJ?

Author:

Home of the National Association of Black Journalists's (NABJ's) Digital Journalism Task Force

Leave a Reply

