Posted in Awards, Conferences & Conventions

Entries Now Open For The 2013 Online Journalism Awards

By Benét J. Wilson, chair, NABJ Digital Journalism Task Force & social media/eNewsletters editor, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association

Among my myriad journalism activities, I serve on the board of the Online News Association.  And ONA has just released the call for its 2013 Online Journalism Awards.

It is ONA’s 12th year recognizing excellence in digital journalism.  And this year, ONA is awarding $37,500 in prize money, more than in any previous year.  But there have been some changes in the program this year, including:

  • The non-English awards have merged with the English-language awards, giving international outlets a chance to compete in all categories, including the prestigious General Excellence Award. This update is a part of ONA’s commitment to being a global organization; and
  • ONA has added a new award this year — the Gannett Foundation Award for Watchdog Journalism. This category honors news coverage in the public interest that keeps tabs on authority through objective, neutral, fair and impartial coverage. The winner will receive $5,000.

I know that journalists of color have done some great work in the digital space, so I hope you’ll consider entering your stories in this great awards program.  The awards are open to work published between June 16, 2012, and June 15, 2013, and you don’t have to be an ONA member to submit (although we’d love it if you joined).

The finalists and the winners are selected through a two-step process. A group of 24 industry-leading journalists and new media professionals team up in pairs of two to rank finalists in each category. In September, 12 of those judges meet to select winners.

Nine of the 29 awards come with a total of $37,500 in prize money, courtesy of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and the Gannett Foundation, including the new Watchdog Journalism award.

Submissions are due by  June 21, 2013, and will announce the winners on the closing evening of the 2013 Online News Association Conference & Awards Banquet in Atlanta, Oct. 19.  I’ll be sitting in the front row cheering all the winners on!



Home of the National Association of Black Journalists's (NABJ's) Digital Journalism Task Force

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s