Posted in multimedia journalist, Technology

Top 10 iPhone Apps I Recommend For NABJ President Greg Lee’s New iPhone

So I’m checking out the @NABJDigital Twitter account and I see that NABJ President Greg Lee has announced that he just got a new iPhone.  I’m an iPhone user (Santa bought me an iPhone 5) and regularly test and review iPhone apps.  So below, for my president, and the rest of you, are my picks.

  1. AppStart for iPhone (free) – one of my geek tech friends told me about this app when I got my iPad last Christmas, and they have now released an iPhone version.  It offers dozens of suggestions for folks just getting started.
  2. Apps Gone Free (free) – every day, this app suggests between eight and 20 paid apps that are being given away for a limited time.  I’ve gotten some great photo/video and travel apps through this app.
  3. AP Stylebook ($24.99) – any journalist worth their salt has a copy of this on their desk.  This app puts it all in your hands, with a search function and the ability to bookmark key items.
  4. Miriam Webster Dictionary (free) – I love this app. You can get quick definitions and pronunciations of words.
  5. SoundCloud (free) – this app allows you to record sound for stories and upload it to Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook and Foursquare.
  6. iTalk Recorder Premium ($1.99) – every good reporter needs  a recorder for interviews.  This is the one you want.  You can do good, better and best sound quality. Once the recording is done, you can email it (if it’s not too big), upload it via Dropbox or download the desktop app that automatically transfers files.
  7. Camera+ (99 cents) – the built-in camera on the iPhone is crap. Spend the money to get this app, which includes a zoom, a grid, a stabilizer, a timer, the ability to take bursts of photos, quality adjustment, sharing on social networks and geotagging.
  8. Video+ (99 cents) – again, the video camera on the iPhone is crap. so spend the 99 cents for an app that offers more than a dozen special effects, contrast and other settings, and the ability to use the flash as  a light for your video.
  9. Ustream (free) – use this app to live stream events.  The video can also be automatically uploaded to a YouTube channel.
  10. Evernote (free) – this app allows you to take notes, capture photos, create to-do lists, record voice reminders–and makes these notes completely searchable. You can also access your notes via iPhone, iPad or desktop.

Tomorrow I’ll offer my top 10 iPad picks.  And I’d be happy to see what your iPhone/iPad app picks are!

Author:

Home of the National Association of Black Journalists's (NABJ's) Digital Journalism Task Force

7 thoughts on “Top 10 iPhone Apps I Recommend For NABJ President Greg Lee’s New iPhone

  1. I love Evernote, Dropbox, Genius Scan (great for expense reports and freelance invoices), Google Authenticator for 2-step verification of your Gmail account, Flipboard (all of your social network feeds, RSS and curated topics in once place), CardMunch (scans and loads info from biz cards),

Leave a Reply

