Posted in Education, journalism

Why I Love My Business Journalism Job

By Benét J. Wilson, DJTF co-chair, Online Managing Editor-Business Aviation, Aviation Week Group

One of the regular items on my Google Reader is content from the Donald W. Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism, which is located at Arizona State University.  The center offers free training, fellowships, tips and story ideas, among other things.

Yesterday, they released a new study, entitled “U.S. business journalists’ median salary is $56,220, Reynolds Center survey finds.”  Although I’ve known the information in the study for years in my own career as a business journalist, I’m glad to see it confirmed what I and other business journalists already knew.

U.S. business journalists reported a median salary of $56,220 for 2010-11, according to the center’s research. Other findings included: 14% of those business journalists surveyed in mid-July said their newsroom was currently hiring full-time journalists, and one in five said their newsroom had shrunk in the past six months.  The research also found this breakdown for median salaries by place of employment in 2010-11:

  • Print: $50,100
  • Freelancing: $54,091
  • Broadcast: $55,588
  • Online: $57,308
  • Wire services: $78,438.

My whole career has been on the trade/B2B side of journalism.  Besides the great pay,  I feel I’ve had better career opportunities, a more flexible work schedule and a beat that is overflowing with story potential.  And did I mention that in a 20+ year career, I’ve never worked over the Thanksgiving weekend or over Christmas? I encourage you to read the report and consider business journalism as a career option.  I also encourage you to take advantage of the training offered by the center to help you reach your goals.

Author:

Home of the National Association of Black Journalists's (NABJ's) Digital Journalism Task Force

Leave a Reply

