Posted in Conferences & Conventions, journalism

Still Not Registered For NABJ 2011? Let Members Convince You

By Benét J. Wilson, DJTF co-chair, Online Managing Editor-Business Aviation, Aviation Week Group

Today, June 10, marks only five more days before pre-registration ends for the 2011 NABJ Annual Convention & Career Fair.  After June 15, the rate jumps from a reasonable $380 to $800.   So maybe it would help to hear from other NABJ member who plan on attending this year’s activities in Philadelphia.

Marcus Osborne, Your Straight Male Friend, San Francisco – I’ll be there to re-charge! NOTHING compares to the energy boost of an NABJ convention! It’s better than Gatorade!

Jummy Olabanji, ABC-7 Reporter, Washington, D.C. –  This year, for the first time ever, I’m simply attending to catch up with old friends and meet new ones.

Kirstin Garriss, Class of 2011, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill – I’m going NABJ because I know what it can and WILL do for my career! I’ve met so many influential people at NABJ and I’m grateful for their connections.

Rachel Huggins, Assistant Online Editor, USATODAY.com – As a digital journalist of color, I firmly believe in the power of forging strong relationships with media professionals in our ever-evolving industry. NABJ’s 2011 convention will be my first year in attendance, but I’m eager to celebrate the achievements of my colleagues, toast to the future of journalism and enhance my future.

Tahero, Creative Strategist and Creative Director at StapleCrops.com  – I’m attending because I’ll be speaking on a panel: Enterprise Journalism: Data Visualization and Mining for Stories.

Christopher Nelson, Assignment Editor, NBC News – I’ll be at NABJ in order to get insight & foresight into industry changes from our view. I also can’t wait to reconnect with my NABJ family.

Vanessa Deggins, multimedia reporter – I’m going NABJ to network and improve my multimedia skills in some of the workshops. And I can’t wait to see my NABJ family.

Marissa Evans, president of Marquette University NABJ Chapter – “I’m attending convention because it’s a great way to learn how you stack up with the competition and how you can be better. Also my chapter NABJ-Marquette will be there with me this year, I’m so excited for them to experience a convention!”

So run — do not walk — and click here to register before the June 15 deadline.  And don’t forget that NABJ has travel discounts on Continental Airlines, Amtrak and Hertz to get you there.

And check out this video from the Philadelphia Association of Black Journalists on why you need to be there.  I hope to see you in Philly!

Author:

Home of the National Association of Black Journalists's (NABJ's) Digital Journalism Task Force

Leave a Reply

