Friday Fast Five – The Poynter Edition

By Benét J. Wilson, DJTF co-chair, Online Managing Editor-Business Aviation, Aviation Week Group

Editor’s note: please join the National Association of Black Journalists’ Digital Journalism task force for our next BlogTalkRadio chat – “Hyperlocal Websites: Are They The Savior Of Local News?” on Tuesday, Sept. 28 from 8:00-9:00 p.m. Eastern time.  Click here for more details.  I hope you can join us!

Today is my last day of a week-long multimedia training offered down here at the Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Fla.  A post will be forthcoming on why you should consider Poynter training, especially if you belong to a minority journalist organization.  Not only was the course very informative, I met a great bunch of journalists who were already doing amazing things and will do even more after this training.  So this post is for Zack, Burt, Laura, Gudni, Sandra, Jerrita, Beatriz Melissa Pat, Lynette, Meena, Josee and Carol, with a special shout out to Alex, Al, Regina and Jeanne.  Enjoy!

  1. 10000 Words6 exceptional multimedia student projects. I never do a Fast Five without including Mark Luckie, and this week is no exception.  I especially like this post because it shows some of the possibilities for me and my fellow Poynter grads as we go home and actually try to implement what we’ve learned.  I especially liked number 5, Multimedia Standards, by students at the University of Miami.  (P.S. Poynter has Mark’s book – The Digital Journalist’s Handbook – in its library, and so should you!!)
  2. Poynter Online10 Ways Journalism Around The World Is Being Revived And Reinvented.  What kind of person would I be if I didn’t include an entry from here? Plus we had a student from Iceland and a student from Spain with some great insight on what’s going on in the field there.
  3. Journal LocalUseful Android Apps For Journalists And Bloggers.  During the week, we had several lively discussions on iPhone versus Android for journalists.  I didn’t realize Androids did so much; I might have actually re-though my decision to buy an iPhone!
  4. Read Write WebTumblr Leaves Posterous In The Dust. I have been going through a debate with myself on what platform I’m going to use for my new work portfolio blog.  I threw the question out to my Twitter followers and it came down to Tumblr and Posterous.  This article actually pushed Tumblr into the lead.  Who knew Tumblr did this much? Now if I could only choose a theme…Sigh
  5. Multimedia ShooteriPhone: A Storyteller’s Most Valuable Tool. Plus Apps And Gear You Gotta Have.  Considering I’ve just completed multimedia training and I have an iPhone, it just made sense to see what’s out there that lets me shoot fairly good video and other tricks.

One of our guest lecturers for this course was multimedia journalist Alex Garcia of the Washington Post.  She did a presentation on “Why I Love Multimedia Storytelling,” and this story — The Healing Fields — illustrates that particularly well.  Have a great weekend!!

Leave a Reply

