Posted in Uncategorized

Mashable Offers 5 Essential Tools for Mobile Journalists; I Add a Few More

By Benét J. Wilson, DJTF co-chair, Online Managing Editor-Business Aviation, Aviation Week Group

Regular readers of this blog know that I am a big fan of the Mashable blog, especially when it focuses on new media and multimedia issues.  Earlier this month, writer Greg Ferenstein outlined what he felt were five essential tools for the mobile journalist: Google Voice, Ustream, Reeldirector,   Fast Thumbs and Sync-able Memos and WordPress.  These are some great tools, but I thought of a few more to add to the list.

  1. A netbook. It’s on my list of things to buy, but my sister swears by the ASUS EEE PC.  You can write your stories on Google Documents, and film interviews with the built-in Web camera.
  2. My iPod Touch. My company has issued us Blackberry smartphones, so I can’t have an iPhone.  Bu for me, the Touch is he next best thing.  On it I have apps that make my job easier, including: AP Stylebook;  WordPress; NewsFeed (access to dozens of newspapers, TV stations and magazines);  Skype;  Quick Voice; Dictionary; and Note2Self.
  3. A  digital camera/video camera. I need to shoot basic videos for my company’s Web site and I also needed a photo camera that was a step up from the Canon Elph Powershot I had used for years.  So I bought the Fuji FinePix S800 camera for $249 on HSN.  The 10X zoom is good enough to catch the photo shots I need, plus the video is good enough for the Web.
  4. A digital voice recorder. I use an Olympus WS-100 that can double as USB file storage device in a pinch.
  5. Belkin Mini Surge Protector with USB Charger. I actually used to carry around a 6-outlet surge protector power strip because there is never enough outlets.  But this small plug has three AC outlets and two powered USB outlets, which can handle all my needs.

What are some of the tools you can’t live without?  Let us know in the comments section!

Author:

Home of the National Association of Black Journalists's (NABJ's) Digital Journalism Task Force

Leave a Reply

