Daily Archives: December 15, 2009

Great Holiday Gift Ideas for Journalists

By Benét J. Wilson, DJTF co-chair,

Online Managing Editor-Business Aviation, Aviation Week Group

It’s only 10 days until Christmas (where does the time go?) and I thought now would be the time to do the first annual NABJ Digital blog gift idea list.  It looks like my favorite 10000 Words blog beat me to the punch with its list (I want numbers 2, 6 and 17, please).  A few weeks ago, I asked members of the Digital Journalism Task Force for their ideas, which are listed below.

Mario Armstrong is my go-to guy for all the coolest tech toys, and he recommends three things: the Livescribe Pulse Pen and the Kodak Zi8 pocket video camera.  Eba Hamid of the Wichita Eagle recommends the Flip Video Camera, a 4-16GB USB/flash drive and a subscription to the online AP Stylebook.  For the really ambitious, she also suggested a netbook, a copy of the Adobe Creative Suite, a DSLR camera and a domain name/hosting space for their own portfolio Web site.

Natalie McNeal – AKA The Frugalista – really likes the Flip HD Video Camera.  Bob Butler, VP of broadcast for the National Association of Black Journalists recommends a decent pair of headphones, like the Klipsch Image S4.  And Renee Turner suggests a digital recorder.  I’m a big fan of the Olympic recorders, myself.

DJTF co-chairman Andrew Humphrey offers up a 500 GB external hard drive and a charging pad.  And on my list: the Blue Eyeball Web Cam, the Asus EEE PC,  the Belkin Mini Surge Protector with USB Charger and the Bobarra Lady Lindy Laptop Bag to carry it all in.  Merry Christmas and Happy Kwanzaa!