Join The #30In30 Blog Post Challenge!

By Ameena Rasheed, multimedia journalist and student, Texas Southern University

Every Wednesday evening at 8 p.m. Eastern, I tune into book author and writer Aliya S. King’s Twitter stream. King hosts an #AskAliya Twitter chat where she fields various questions from aspiring writers who are in need of advice about freelancing for magazines, becoming better storytellers and much more. Last week’s chat was no different.  

Well, except for one thing. At the end of her #AskAliya chat, she mentioned a writing challenge called “#30In30” that was created by journalist Erik Parker. The #30In30 challenge encompasses writing 30 blog posts in 30 days during the month of August. There are not any specific topic or length guidelines that you must follow and you can start at any time. King accepted and opened it up to her Twitter followers.

As I watched the blog URLs and #30In30 tweets flood in, I wondered if I should join in as well. I enjoy writing; however, at times it gives me a bit of anxiety. When I finish a story, I’m always questioning myself. Is my article structured well? Does this even make sense? Is the writing strong enough? The questions never end.

I, like many others, am my own worst critic. I almost brushed it off until I read Aliya’s initial #30In30 post where she quoted Eleanor Roosevelt, “Do something everyday that scares you.” Instead of passing up this opportunity because of me being scared, I dusted off my Tumblr and gave it a try. After a week,   I am still going strong and I have gotten some positive feedback about my writing.

 

Now, I did not want to do this by myself, so I asked my Twitter followers if they wanted to join me. In a matter of minutes, several hopped  on board. Marissa Evans had the great idea of creating a Twitter list of NABJ members who will be joining in on the blogging fun. You can view that list here

Here are a few of my favorite blog posts published within the NABJ family:

Still Searching for Our Mother’s Gardens” by Evette Dionne

Writing Your Online Obituary, Starting Now” by Marissa Evans

If the spirit moves you, come join us. It is never too late. Let the blogging commence.

One response to “Join The #30In30 Blog Post Challenge!

  1. Thanks for pinging my article here, Ameena! I agree. It is never too late to join the #30in30 challenge. I encourage all writers to get involved.

Leave a Reply

