10 iPhone Apps To Enhance Your NABJ 2012 Convention Experience

By Benét J. Wilson, DJTF chair & freelance aviation/travel journalist and blogger

Regular readers know that I am a HUGE fan of my iPhone as a great tool to do my job as a journalist. But some of the same tools I love to do my work will also help make next week’s National Association of Black Journalists Annual Convention and Career Fair a better experience. So below, in no particular order, are 10 apps to make your convention experience even better.

  1. The Weather Channel: I love this app for giving me detailed hourly, daily, 36-hour and weekly forecasts in any city.
  2. Hoot Suite: with this free Twitter app, not only can I keep track of my six Twitter accounts, I can also create columns to follow the #NABJ12 and #NABJ hashtags, along with key people like @NABJprez2011. I also like the Hashtag app to follow particular tags in one place.
  3. Dragon Diction: this handy app allows me to post directly to my Facebook or Twitter accounts just by speaking. And because so much is going on, I can also use it to send myself reminders and updates.
  4. AroundMe: this free app is an invaluable resource when you’re in a new city. It offers information on local conveniences including banks/ATMs, bars, hospitals, restaurants and supermarkets.
  5. Concur: If you’re going on your company’s dime and it uses Concur, this app is golden. It allows you to keep track of expenses on the run. And after the convention, there’s no huge pile of receipts to track. Nice! If you don’t use Concur, click here for other suggestions.
  6. Urbanspoon: New Orleans is a great city for food. Use this free app to find restaurants in the city, complete with menus, comments, directions and contact information. It also breaks down restaurants by cuisine and price.For my sushi lovers, I’m a big fan of iSushi.
  7. Ustream: this app allows me to shoot live video from my iPhone. I can also upload the video to my YouTube channel.
  8. Audioboo: I used this tool in Philly last year to do quick, 5-minute audio interviews.
  9. CamCard ($6.99): every year I collect a huge stack of business cards and only input a fraction of them on Microsoft Outlook. I hate paying for apps, but this one was worth the money. I can take a picture of a card and the information is automatically updated in my NABJ contacts group. Plus it’s environmentally friendly. ABMW President Troy Johnson also told me about CardFlick, a free app that allows you to share business card information.
  10. Taxi Magic: you need a cab, but you don’t want to hunt for phone numbers. Use this free online booking service to get a cab where you want, when you want.

So, what did I miss? What apps would you suggest for NABJ?

4 responses to “10 iPhone Apps To Enhance Your NABJ 2012 Convention Experience

  1. What about a video app? Great suggestions. Thanks.

  2. Unfortunately I cannot attend the conference this year :( but these apps all seem amazing and helpful for any metro city. I am downloading them all right now!

  3. Yolanda McCutchen

    I use Shoeboxed to electronically store business cards and it functions like the app mentioned in your post. Allissa Richardson turned me on to it at NABJ10. Will the convention booklet be available via an app this year? I the booklet app at NABJ11 and found it very convenient.

Leave a Reply

